Caleb Johnson Wins Back-to-Back as Baptista Wins the Championship

TAMPA, FL. – Caleb Johnson once again prevailed at Richmond Raceway in the Nitro Lubricants Jr. Late Model Esports NEXT Series Presented by Joe’s Racing Products. Johnson started second and lead 45 laps en route to a feature victory, his second of the season, both wins coming at Richmond Raceway. Chasen Groff, Joaquin Stewart, Justis Sokol, and Zach Morris finished out the top five.

“At the beginning, it was a rocky start,” Johnson said.”I qualified second and won my heat race which started me second to Dylan (Baptista). The first 40-laps he was amazing, he ran really good. He messed up and I was just able to get around him.”

Although Johnson grabbed the victory it was Dylan Baptista who scored the overall points Championship in the NEXT series finishing just three points ahead of Chase Burda, with Zach Morris coming in third. Baptista ran into some trouble after leading the first portion of the race and had to rely on the 21 point deficit coming in to round 6 to get the job done. 

Keep up to date with everything there is to know in the Jr. Late Model eSports Series by Visting our Website at the link below: